September 07

Tags

The three types of Jobs you may encounter in your life

Some people wonder how it is that I travel as much as I do. Isn’t it expensive to do? Isn’t it difficult to take time off? Is it that my job itself involves a lot of travel?

So I thought I would share my views on the different types of jobs I’ve had over the course of my years and which ones I suggest you aim for.

The Passionate Job

There are very few people in the world who are lucky enough to really have what they are passionate about able to pay their bills as well. These jobs are few and far between and sometimes you may even have to forge your own path to create it. Rest assured, the road to finding this job is not the easiest, but the payback truly is the greatest. You wake up everyday excited about your job, you are so passionate it’s one of the things you always talk about in your conversations and you find yourself thinking about it all the time. In a good way.

C(Getting to enjoy fashion AND travel? what a wonderful world that would be)

 

For me personally, this website has in a way been that ‘job’ for me. Before this I never really understood what it was like to be so excited about what you do that it consumes most of your waking moments (and some of your sleep).

Tell tale sign: You find yourself smiling and excited every time someone asks you “what do you do?”

 

The Enabler Job

This is the job that you do enjoy but really think of as ‘work’. You wake up every morning, head to the office (or wherever it is you work) and you give it your very best. You focus and aim to deliver on your goals, but as soon as office hours are over you can easily switch off.

This job enables you to pursue your true passion and love wherever it may be. It may be a job that gives you flexible hours so you can spend time with your family, or it may be a job that enablers you to other benefits related to your passion; like discounts on merchandise. In all, it pays you well enough to cover your needs, and gives you enough flexibility and time and other benefits to help you enjoy your true passion

1185801_10100170476834880_1837831871_n(Getting sent to work in a different city, a different country on a topic I’m interested in. Getting to fly business didn’t hurt either)

 

I’m currently in such a job, and it’s pretty great. I go to work, earn enough to pay my bills and feed my travel and fashion passion, and get the perks of flying all over the place for work as well.

Tell tale sign: You tell people what you do, and find yourself slipping in the other fun stuff that you get to do thanks to your job. Re: “My job is great! It gets me discounts on flight tickets!”

 

The Disabler Job

This job may be difficult to identify because it could easily camouflage itself as an Enabler Job. Similar to the Enabler Job, you find yourself waking up, going to work and giving it your all… but then you find yourself coming home and thinking about your job, eating and thinking about your job. Your life is consumed by your job. And not in a good way.

You aren’t that interested in the industry or topic or project that you’re on, and you find you have to force yourself to try and be excited about it. On an extreme level (*ehem*), you may find yourself actually despising the work itself.

5848_123827321525_373418_n(All dressed up to explore Bangkok, but ended up being yet another weekend working inside)

 

So why stay? The job entices you enough like a carrot on a stick; maybe it’s the great salary, maybe it’s the great healthcare benefits, maybe it’s the promise of a fast career path. Whatever it is, you find yourself justifying day in and day out why you need to stay. And find yourself drained from your work all the time.

Tell tale sign:  Your job conversation pretty much goes “yeah… it’s ok… but it really pays me well!” or “the hours are really long… but they cover my kids college tuition”

Personally, for me, I’ve been lucky (or unlucky) enough to have gone through all three. I started at the bottom, and moved on to an enabler job and finally figuring out my Passionate Job. Maybe, one day, if I’m lucky enough, I can make the full transition over. And still be able to pay my bills!

So sound off below! What do you think? Any other types of jobs you’ve encountered in your life?

