An almost Roman Holiday

Sometimes your travels inspire your wardrobe, and sometimes it’s the other way round.

I wasn’t really exposed to Audrey Hepburn when I was younger, and must admit that it was only when I was studying in the US with a Netflix subscription and a Blockbusters near my house that I started watching her movies. She is an incredible actress and a beautiful style icon, popularizing the little black dress in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, her gamine looks from everyday, and those beautiful tapered pants with flats. It should be no wonder how carried away I got while watching Roman Holiday.

I landed in Rome with my best friend from college S. We were living in Paris at this point in time and decided to add to our experiences with a jaunt through Italy. Rome, Florence, Pisa and Venice. It was an easy flight over on Ryanair and then a hop, skip and a run to Rome.

To say I was mesmerized by Rome would be to trivialize it. It was magical. Seeing the Colosseum for the first time, the Roman ruins. Walking through Vatican city and seeing the Sistine Chapel. Literally walking through history. You could feel it, this seat of old empire. The ancient times in the air.

Then there were the sounds. The buzz and hum as scooters zoom past you, Italian singing in the air. Imagine a movie scene opening, with a 360 shot of your face as you saw the city for the first time. The awe. An Audrey Hepburn moment.

Roman Holiday Board

I was dressed in an A-line skirt, a white top with a sheer lace vest over it. I was in flats and walked around the city with ease. I wanted it, wanted to relive the moment. So I went over to the motorcycle rental store and asked to rent a scooter.

Paris 14 132

Staff: Have you ever ridden on a motorcycle before

Me: … yes… sort of (my only memory of being on a motorcycle was when my high school bf piled me up behind him and zoomed off)

Staff looks at me incredulous

Me: I mean, it’s not so hard right. I ride bicycles a lot… ha..ha..ha..

Staff: Sorry miss, I can’t rent you a motorcycle.

Me: But I’m dressed like Audrey Hepburn! Please don’t take my Roman Holiday away from me! <– to be honest I can’t remember if this was an internal monologue or an external one.

I had already planned it out. I will look clumsy (but cute!) on a scooter, and zoom past the beautiful ruins of the city. Perhaps when I stop and get off the scooter, or when I am stopping at a traffic light, a cute Italian boy would catch my eye and smile. A cute buongiorno playing on his lips.

I walk away dejected. Step outside and almost get hit by one of the zooming scooters. ‘Ok’ I reason to myself, maybe it’s not as easy as I thought it was going to be. I walk away with my friend S, fuming. But then we stopped in a small street. I bought myself a gelato, and thought. ‘Fine. Maybe I don’t get to enact the scooter zooming scene. But at least I got the gelato eating part done right’

Paris 14 139(Dejected)

